There’s a fine line between pleasure and pain. …(Chrissy Amphlett)

What sort of person straps 10kg to their back and heads out in driving, freezing rain for their holiday?

image

I set out at 6.30am bidding farewell to Tania as she goes forward to Burgos by bus. I have 2 days walk ahead of me before seeing her again. For the first 3 hours I had my head down protecting my face from the stinging rain and only seeing a few feet ahead. I had three layers of clothing on but still I was freezing. We all crammed into the first bar that was open to enjoy a reprieve from the cold and a hot coffee.

image

Luckily the rain stopped and the sun came out for the last 4 hours of my walk today…covering a distance of 30.4km.  The mud continued most of the day as we slipped up the mountain and slid down to the villages.

image

Which muddy path should I take?

Tonight I am staying in Atapuerca. They discovered the earliest human remains in caves near here. Apparently they date back to 900,000 years. I tell you, I’m feeling my age today but not quite that old!

image

8 thoughts on “There’s a fine line between pleasure and pain. …(Chrissy Amphlett)

  1. Yes, what kind of people would do a dumb thing like that? You could be sitting by a pool in Bali sipping cocktails with pretty paper umbrellas! Instead you have mud, aching feet and water to drink! Of course you could visit a tapas bar and sample their wares with a glass of wine or two. Life is pretty good, isn’t it 🙂

  2. When you freezing cold, imagine you are lying by the pool in Tuscany in the warm sun enjoying a glass of wine. You have this to look forward to 🙂 In line with the song them – The Only Way Is Up, Baby!! And in line with our love of movies – You Can Do It!!!!!! Love ya xxoo

    • I shouldn’t complain. The weather isn’t tooo bad for walking just the rain and the wind could ease up a bit 🙂
      Can’t wait to swim in Maria’s pool!

  3. Hey Chelle. I may have mastered this leave a comment thingy.
    This jounalling of yours should be published.
    Its great reading. -Gripping with highs & lows.
    Keep walking , keep writing!
    We are willing you both on.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

