At the end of the line….well its all right….(The Travelling Wilburys)

I made it!

image

My Compostella and certificate of distance.

I have walked 775km (as per my certificate) from St Jean Pied de Port in France to the Cathedral of St James where I have seen the casket that holds the great man. It is an emotional day.

image

The final four shadows.

We started to walk at 6.30am as we only had just under 17km to go. We were met by Bodil our Danish friend who had stayed the night in O Pedrouzo. Our plan was to walk into Santiago together. Tania, Elizabeth (from Sydney), Bodil and myself had spent the better part of three weeks walking together and we wanted to finish together as well.
Everyone we met on the way was excited and the feeling of camaraderie was strong but we still had one climb to go and luckily it wasn’t too strenuous. The monument overlooking the distant town of Santiago was filled with groups hugging and congratulating friends they had met on the way.

image

By the time we walked through the old town and into the Plaza at the Cathedral we were all hugging and a few tears were shed. Photo’s were taken and memories captured. We managed to find accommodation and were back at the church for the 12 noon Pilgrim Mass.

image

Yes there is scaffolding at the front of the church.

image

We were told by our American school friends that they had sponsored the flight of the botafumeiro, the huge incense burner that swings over the mass (originally to fumigate the sweaty pilgrims). It was a truly marvellous experience and one I will never forget.

image

image

Where St James lies.

The emotions continued to flow as I got my Compostella. The man with the velvet voice asked, “And what reason did you do the Camino Michelle? ” I truthfully said that I was originally drawn to it and felt I had a strong calling to it but it became very spiritual as I went along. And then I cried….again.

image

I can’t explain why I am so moved about my Camino. It was at times very hard and extremely taxing on the body and mind but in the end, it is an enriching life experience that I hope you have experienced as well through this blog.
Buen Camino!

image

28 thoughts on “At the end of the line….well its all right….(The Travelling Wilburys)

  1. BRAVO AND THANKYOU MICHELLE I HAVE SAT UP IN BED AT 2am most mornings to read travelling Chelle…. I have indeed been enriched , georgia

  2. Well Done – there are no words – but the song that comes to mind is “climb every mountain” – love you, and so very proud
    xx Trace

  3. Michelle! What an incredible achievement! I’m incredibly proud of your efforts, your spirit and your ability to transport us all along with you by a few pictures and some well crafted words. We can’t wait to meet you in Tuscany and celebrate with you!

  4. Well done my beautiful friend. I am so proud of you and what you have achieved. Thank you for taking us all on this journey with you through your blog – it has been wonderful and you have done such a good job to express your emotions and joy on this journey. We will be toasting you and Tanya with a glass of red tonight! Now you are onto the next stage of the adventure. Have fun. Love you heaps xxoo

    • Thankyou again Gaye for cheering me on from the sidelines. Your presence was felt so many miles away. We will miss you in Tuscany but again your spirit will be with us. Xxxx

  5. Your last sentence (14th June) “It is a enriching life experience, I hope YOU have experienced it as well” SO TRUE, like all your friends, we eagerly awaited to feel your highs and lows of the day. Your story telling was amazing. In future when see you across the road, I’m sure a smile will come to our faces and our thoughts will return to The Camino Adventure. Who says ” Women are the weaker sex ” Enjoy the rest of your holiday – CHEERS

  6. WOW MICHELLE – YOU HAVE DONE IT. YOU WILL HAVE SOME GREAT STORIES TO TELL AND SOMETHING THAT YOU WILL NEVER EVER FORGET. WITH ALL TYPES OF WEATHER, SUN, MOON, COLD, HOT, WET,WALKING, THOUGHTS AND ALL KINDS OF EMOTIONS – IN FACT EVERYTHING HAS BEEN THROWN YOU AND YOU HAVE SURVIVED IT ALL – ALWAYS WITH A SMILE ON YOUR FACE (from you photos). I NOW WILL LOOK AT YOU WITH AS A ‘HERO’ AND IN MY EYES THAT IS WHAT YOU ARE!!! ENJOY THE REST OF YOUR HOLIDAYS WITH YOUR FAMILY (don’t worry about TOBY) AND LOOKING FORWARD VERY MUCH TO SEE YOU WHEN YOU RETURN HOME. OUR LUV TO YOU DI,GREG, AND MICHAEL XXXXOOOO

  7. Congratulations Michelle, it has been a wonderful experience reading your blog and admiring your photos.
    Lots of love
    Peter

  8. Congratulations and thank you for writing your blog. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about your adventures and judging by the comments above you are not about to stop now! Good luck in your future challenges 🙂

  9. CONGRATULATIONS Michelle and to Tania. I have read everyone’s comments and can only re-iterate and agree. Words fail me as I blink away the tears at what you have achieved. I can imagine the scale of your emotion as you have travelled this journey and accomplished the ultimate and I admire you greatly. PLEASE keep the blogs coming, Conor is correct, you have such a way of crafting your words and including us all in your journey.

    Love Sue and Michael xxxx

  10. Congratulations Michelle (and Tania)! I cried and celebrated with you yesterday…You’ll feel invincible for a long time and that you can do anything! Hallo to Mum, have a wonderful time, lol Maggie

    • Thanks Maggie. I can’t wait to see Mum in Rome on Sunday and I’m excited about exploring Tuscany with her especially viewing the masterpiece’s in Florence. Xx

  11. Wow! It’s over and I can tell that its impact will reverberate for a very long time. Don’t stop seeking, don’t stop searching, don’t stop laughing, don’t stop walking and most of all, don’t stop writing …. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed travelling this path again through your eyes, it’s been so enjoyable and a great blessing to me. Well done you!!!!
    May the transition from pilgrim to tourist be easy and may you revel in the great times yet to come.
    God bless you Michelle xox

    • You may know the feeling exactly. When we started buying trinkets in all the tourist shops in Santiago, I was no longer a pilgrim. A pilgrim wouldn’t want to carry extra weight in their packs. So now a different holiday begins. Not the same but just as exciting. Stay tuned for more…..

  12. Pingback: This time last year. . | The Chelle Seeker

Leave a Reply

